Sportsnet Announces 2013 Vancouver Canucks Regional Broadcast Schedule

Sportsnet to deliver 34 regular season Vancouver Canucks telecasts in 2013, more than any Canadian broadcaster

Schedule features six all-Canadian matchups and 13 Northwest Division matchups

Sportsnet has more hockey television coverage featuring Canadian NHL teams than any other broadcaster in Canada with 150 games; extensive multiplatform NHL coverage all season long

TORONTO (January 13, 2013) – Sportsnet today announced its 2013 Vancouver Canucks regional broadcast schedule, featuring 34 regular season games on television, kicking off on Sunday, Jan. 20 at 6 p.m. PT on Sportsnet Pacific as the Canucks host the young-gun Edmonton Oilers at Rogers Arena. All season long, Sportsnet will keep fans connected to their home team first with more Canucks and Canadian NHL team games on TV than any other broadcaster, in addition to unparalleled coverage across radio, digital and print.

 

All of Sportsnet’s 34 regular season Vancouver Canucks games will air on Sportsnet Pacific and will feature play-by-play announcer John Shorthouse, former Canucks goalie and analyst John Garrett and host Dan Murphy. HOCKEY CENTRAL will preview every game with a half hour pre-game show, and will also provide intermission and post-game analysis.

 

Highlights from Sportsnet’s Vancouver Canucks regular season broadcast schedule include:

  • Six all-Canadian showdowns, featuring three games versus Edmonton and three games versus Calgary
  • 13 Northwest Division matchups
  • Special Saturday afternoon broadcast on March 23 at 1 p.m. PT featuring the Canucks visiting the Stanley Cup Champion Kings in Los Angeles
  • Two games versus Western Conference rival Chicago Blackhawks

 

In addition to being the official regional television broadcast rights holders for the Vancouver Canucks, Sportsnet is the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Edmonton Oilers, Ottawa Senators, and Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN).

 

Sportsnet continues to be Canada’s prime destination for all things hockey, providing multiplatform 360° coverage of the country’s beloved sport including:

  • HOCKEY CENTRAL TONIGHT – Broadcasts nightly at 11 p.m. local time, Monday through Friday, on Sportsnet ONE, East, Ontario, West and Pacific (check local listings for the most up-to-date schedule)
  • HOCKEY CENTRAL @ Noon - Host Daren Millard is joined by Nick Kypreos, Doug MacLean, and Scott Morrison to discuss and debate the latest developments from around the league, Monday to Friday at Noon ET on Sportsnet 590 The FAN and simulcast live on Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific at Noon local time (daily schedule subject to change; please check local listings)
  • Sportsnet.ca keeps fans connected 24/7 to their home team with digital game highlights and extended online coverage of every Canadian team
  • Sportsnet magazine features in-depth coverage of the NHL’s biggest stars all season long

 

Talent Interviews:

All of Sportsnet’s HOCKEY CENTRAL talent is available for interviews to discuss all things Canucks and NHL.

 

Sportsnet’s 2013 Vancouver Canucks Regional Broadcast Schedule

*All games on Sportsnet Pacific, schedule subject to change


January

  • Sunday, January 20, Edmonton @ Vancouver, 6 p.m. PT
  • Wednesday, January 23, Calgary @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT
  • Friday, January 25, Vancouver @ Anaheim, 7 p.m. PT
  • Sunday, January 27, Vancouver @ San Jose, 5 p.m. PT
  • Wednesday, January 30, Colorado @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT

 

February

  • Monday, February 4, Vancouver @ Edmonton, 6:30 p.m. PT
  • Thursday, February 7, Vancouver @ Minnesota, 5 p.m. PT
  • Friday, February 15, Dallas @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT
  • Sunday, February 17, St. Louis @ Vancouver, 6 p.m. PT
  • Tuesday, February 19, Vancouver @ Chicago, 5:30 p.m. PT
  • Thursday, February 21, Vancouver @ Dallas, 5:30 p.m. PT
  • Friday, February 22, Vancouver @ Nashville, 5 p.m. PT
  • Sunday, February 24, Vancouver @ Detroit, 2 p.m. PT
  • Tuesday, February 26, Phoenix @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT


March

  • Sunday, March 3, Calgary @ Vancouver, 5 p.m. PT
  • Tuesday, March 5, San Jose @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT
  • Thursday, March 7, Vancouver @ Columbus, 4 p.m. PT
  • Sunday, March 10, Vancouver @ Minnesota, 5 p.m. PT
  • Tuesday, March 12, Vancouver @ Columbus, 4 p.m. PT
  • Monday, March 18, Minnesota @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT
  • Thursday, March 21, Vancouver @ Phoenix, 7 p.m. PT
  • Saturday, March 23, Vancouver @ Los Angeles, 1 p.m. PT
  • Sunday, March 24, Vancouver @ Colorado, 5 p.m. PT
  • Tuesday, March 26, Columbus @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT
  • Thursday, March 28, Colorado @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT


April

  • Monday, April 1, Vancouver @ San Jose, 7:30 p.m. PT
  • Thursday, April 4, Edmonton @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT
  • Wednesday, April 10, Vancouver @ Calgary, 7 p.m. PT
  • Saturday, April 13, Vancouver @ Colorado, Noon PT
  • Monday, April 15, Vancouver @ Nashville, 5 p.m. PT
  • Tuesday, April 16, Vancouver @ St. Louis, 5 p.m. PT
  • Thursday, April 18, Vancouver @ Dallas, 5:30 p.m. PT
  • Monday, April 22, Chicago @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT
  • Thursday, April 25, Anaheim @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT

 

Social Media Links

 

About Sportsnet
Sportsnet connects Canadian sports fans to their favourite teams and athletes, using five platforms: TV, Radio, Print, Online and Mobile. Sportsnet is Fuelled By Fans, and delivers storytelling on a local, regional, national and global level.  The multiplatform brand consists of Sportsnet, sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN, Sportsnet magazine, Sportsnet Mobile and the Hockey Central app on iPad and Playbook.  Sportsnet is the Canadian leader in NHL and MLB television broadcasts and is home to 162 Toronto Blue Jays games, plus MLB Playoffs and the World Series.  Sportsnet is an official broadcaster of the London 2012 Olympic Games, and also offers an exciting sports lineup including the NFL, the Rogers Cup tennis tournament, the Memorial Cup, and soccer programming with UEFA Champions League, Barclays Premier League, MLS Vancouver Whitecaps FC, and Canadian national team matches for men and women.  Connected is the network’s nightly news program, providing regional and national coverage of the day’s events in the world of sports.

 

Media Contact:

Jennifer Neziol, jennifer.neziol@sportsnet.rogers.com, (w) 416-764-6361, (m) 416-275-9182

Sebastian Gatica, sebastian.gatica@sportsnet.rogers.com, (w) 416-764-6368, (m) 416-710-9953