Sportsnet Delivers Exclusive Multiplatform Coverage of all 82 Vancouver Canucks Games This Season

– All-sports radio station Sportsnet 650 is the new home for Canucks hockey; Kenward and Schmaltz added to radio broadcast team –
– Shorthouse, Garrett & Murphy return as Canucks TV broadcast team; Gaffar reports from rinkside –

Join the conversation: #UnitedBySport

TORONTO (August 30, 2017) It may not feel like the seasons are changing in Vancouver, but the puck will drop on the Vancouver Canucks 2017-18 NHL season before fans know it and Sportsnet has it covered, delivering all 82 Canucks regular season games on both TV and radio on Sportsnet 650. The Canucks’ broadcast schedule, featuring 36 national games and 46 regional games, gets underway with Hockey Night in Canada’s season opener on Saturday, Oct. 7 at 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET as Vancouver hosts the Edmonton Oilers. (See full regular season schedule below).

All games will be streamed live on Sportsnet NOW, Rogers NHL LIVE (formerly Rogers NHL GameCentre LIVE), and Sportsnet.ca. Availability on each streaming service is based on viewers’ subscription packages and region. Blackouts are determined by NHL broadcast regulations and apply based on where you live, the services you subscribe to and/or your location at time of viewing a live NHL game.

On TV – Regional

Sportsnet Pacific will be home to 42 of the 46 regional Canucks games this regular season, with the remaining four regional games made available to fans on Sportsnet Vancouver Hockey, the Sportsnet ONE companion channel. The first game on the Canucks’ regional schedule sees them play host to the Ottawa Senators on Tuesday, Oct. 10 at 7 p.m. PT on Sportsnet Vancouver Hockey.

The broadcast team delivering the call remains the same with play-by-play announcer John Shorthouse alongside game analyst John Garrett and rinkside reporter Dan Murphy. During Canucks home games, Murphy will host the broadcast panel live from Rogers Arena, while reporter Irfaan Gaffar will support from ice level delivering exclusive player interviews.

Highlights from Sportsnet’s Vancouver Canucks regional coverage include:

  • Six all-Canadian matchups, including two against Erik Karlsson and the Ottawa Senators on Sportsnet Vancouver Hockey
  • 13 games against Pacific Division rivals, including the 2017 Division Champion Anaheim Ducks, on Sportsnet Pacific

On TV – National

Sportsnet is the home of 36 national Canucks broadcasts this season. Highlights from the national schedule include:

  • 15 appearances on Hockey Night in Canada, beginning with the season opener on October 7 (channel allocations to be announced on a weekly basis)
  • Seven Sunday night showdowns on Rogers Hometown Hockey, including three consecutive Sundays on January 7, 14 & 21.
  • Two Scotiabank Wednesday Night Hockey matchups featuring showdowns against the 2017 Stanley Cup Champion Pittsburgh Penguins, on Wednesday, Nov. 22 and 2017 Stanley Cup Finalists, the Nashville Predators, on Wednesday, Dec. 13.
  • Annual Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada appearance on Saturday, Jan. 20 against Connor McDavid and the Edmonton Oilers.

On Radio – Sportsnet 650

Sportsnet 650 is the new exclusive radio home of Vancouver Canucks hockey this season, broadcasting every game live. Brendan Batchelor will take on the play-by-play role for Canucks radio broadcasts, while former Vancouver Canucks goaltender Corey Hirsch provides colour commentary.

The station will also air pre-game and post-game shows featuring insight from the broadcast team’s newest addition Joey Kenward. Long-time Rogers Radio reporter Ann Schmaltz will also take on rinkside reporter duties on game nights. A daily Canucks Central at Noon show will air from noon to 1 p.m. PT with host Satiar Shah.

Kenward spent the last six years as a host broadcaster and reporter for the Vancouver Canucks. His broadcasting roots began in the WHL, after spending more than a decade calling games for the Vancouver Giants, Kelowna Rockets, and Swift Current Broncos. As NEWS 1130’s managing editor and reporter for sports, Schmaltz has covered everything Vancouver sports for many years. She started her radio career in Alberta, including time with Sportsnet 960 The FAN and 660 NEWS Calgary.

Sportsnet 650 also has coverage of Vancouver Canucks pre-season games beginning Saturday, Sept. 16 and the 2017 Vancouver Canucks Young Stars Classic in Penticton from September 8-11.

In addition to Sportsnet’s Vancouver Canucks regional broadcasts, Sportsnet will deliver exclusive coverage of more than 450 national and regional NHL games this season. In addition to delivering premium Canadian matchups, Sportsnet’s 2017-18 national broadcast schedule showcases the biggest events of the NHL season, including two outdoor games featuring Canadian teams – the NHL 100 Classic between Montreal and Ottawa on Saturday, Dec.16 and the 2018 Coors Light NHL Stadium Series game between Toronto and Washington on Saturday, March 3. The schedule also features exclusive coverage of the 2018 Bridgestone NHL Winter Classic on January 1, the 18th annual Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada on January 20, the 2018 NHL All-Star Game on January 27-28, the 2018 Stanley Cup Playoffs and the 2018 Stanley Cup Final.

As home of hockey’s brightest stars, Sportsnet is also the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN), and Edmonton Oilers,as well as the exclusive English-language national broadcast rights holder of NHL games in Canada.

Vancouver Canucks 2017-18 TV Broadcast Schedule

*Channel allocations for Hockey Night in Canada to be announced on a weekly basis

** All games will also be available on Sportsnet NOW, Rogers NHL LIVE, and Sportsnet.ca

Note: Schedule is subject to change

October

  • Saturday, Oct. 7, Edmonton @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
  • Tuesday, Oct. 10, Ottawa @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Vancouver Hockey)
  • Thursday, Oct. 12, Winnipeg @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Vancouver Hockey)
  • Saturday, Oct. 14, Calgary @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
  • Tuesday, Oct. 17, Vancouver @ Ottawa 4:30 p.m. PT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Vancouver Hockey)
  • Thursday, Oct. 19, Vancouver @ Boston 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)
  • Friday, Oct. 20, Vancouver @ Buffalo 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)
  • Sunday, Oct. 22, Vancouver @ Detroit, 3:30 p.m. PT / 6:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
  • Tuesday, Oct. 24, Vancouver @ Minnesota 5 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Vancouver Hockey)
  • Thursday, Oct. 26, Washington @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Monday, Oct. 30, Dallas @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)

November

  • Wednesday, Nov. 1, New Jersey @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)
  • Saturday, Nov. 4, Pittsburgh @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
  • Monday, Nov. 6, Detroit @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Tuesday, Nov. 7, Vancouver @ Calgary 6 p.m. PT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Thursday, Nov. 9, Vancouver @ Anaheim 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Saturday, Nov. 11, Vancouver @ San Jose, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
  • Tuesday, Nov. 14, Vancouver @ Los Angeles 7:30 p.m. PT / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Thursday, Nov. 16, Las Vegas @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Saturday, Nov. 18, St. Louis @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
  • Tuesday, Nov. 21, Vancouver @ Philadelphia 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Wednesday, Nov. 22, Vancouver @ Pittsburgh, 3:30 p.m. PT / 6:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
  • Friday, Nov. 24, Vancouver @ New Jersey 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Sunday, Nov. 26, Vancouver @ N.Y. Rangers, 10:30 a.m. PT / 1:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
  • Tuesday, Nov. 28, Vancouver @ N.Y. Islanders 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Thursday, Nov. 30, Vancouver @ Nashville 5 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet Pacific)

December

  • Saturday, Dec. 2, Toronto @ Vancouver, 3:30 p.m. PT / 6:30 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
  • Tuesday, Dec. 5, Carolina @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Thursday, Dec. 7, Philadelphia @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Saturday, Dec. 9, Vancouver @ Calgary, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
  • Monday, Dec. 11, Vancouver @ Winnipeg 5 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Wednesday, Dec. 13, Nashville @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
  • Friday, Dec. 15, San Jose @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Sunday, Dec. 17, Calgary @ Vancouver, 4:30 p.m. PT / 7:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
  • Tuesday, Dec. 19, Montreal @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Thursday, Dec. 21, Vancouver @ San Jose 7:30 p.m. PT / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Saturday, Dec. 23, St. Louis @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
  • Thursday, Dec. 28, Chicago @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Saturday, Dec. 30, Los Angeles @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

January

  • Tuesday, Jan. 2, Anaheim @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Saturday, Jan. 6, Vancouver @ Toronto, 3:30 p.m. PT / 6:30 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
  • Sunday, Jan. 7, Vancouver @ Montreal, 3:30 p.m. PT / 6:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
  • Tuesday, Jan. 9, Vancouver @ Washington 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Friday, Jan. 12, Vancouver @ Columbus 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Sunday, Jan. 14, Vancouver @ Minnesota, 3:30 p.m. PT / 6:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
  • Saturday, Jan. 20, Vancouver @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada)
  • Sunday, Jan. 21, Vancouver @ Winnipeg, 4:30 p.m. PT / 7:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)
  • Tuesday, Jan. 23, Los Angeles @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Thursday, Jan. 25, Buffalo @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Tuesday, Jan. 30, Colorado @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)

February

  • Thursday, Feb. 1, Chicago @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Saturday, Feb. 3, Tampa Bay @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
  • Tuesday, Feb. 6, Vancouver @ Florida 4:30 p.m. PT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Thursday, Feb. 8, Vancouver @ Tampa Bay 4:30 p.m. PT / 7:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Friday, Feb. 9, Vancouver @ Carolina 4:30 p.m. PT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Sunday, Feb. 11, Vancouver @ Dallas 1 p.m. PT / 4 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Wednesday, Feb. 14, Florida @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Thursday, Feb. 15, Vancouver @ San Jose 7:30 p.m. PT / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Saturday, Feb. 17, Boston @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
  • Tuesday, Feb. 20, Colorado @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Friday, Feb. 23, Vancouver @ Vegas 7:30 p.m. PT / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Sunday, Feb. 25, Vancouver @ Arizona 6:30 p.m. PT / 9:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Monday, Feb. 26, Vancouver @ Colorado 6 p.m. PT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Wednesday, Feb. 28, N.Y. Rangers @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)

March

  • Friday, March 2, Nashville @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Monday, March 5, N.Y. Islanders @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet pacific)
  • Wednesday, March 7, Arizona @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)
  • Friday, March 9, Minnesota @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Sunday, March 11, Vancouver @ Arizona 6 p.m. PT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Monday, March 12, Vancouver @ Los Angeles 7:30 p.m. PT / 10:30 ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Wednesday, March 14, Vancouver @ Anaheim 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Saturday, March 17, San Jose @ Vancouver, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)
  • Tuesday, March 20, Vancouver @ Las Vegas 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Thursday, March 22, Vancouver @ Chicago 5:30 p.m. PT / 8:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Friday, March 23, Vancouver @ St. Louis 5 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Sunday, March 25, Vancouver @ Dallas, 3:30 p.m. PT / 6:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet
  • Tuesday, March 27, Anaheim @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Thursday, March 29, Edmonton @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Saturday, March 31, Columbus @ Vancouver 1 p.m. PT / 4 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)

April

  • Tuesday, April 3, Las Vegas @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Thursday, April 5, Arizona @ Vancouver 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Pacific)
  • Saturday, April 7, Vancouver @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

Social Media Links:

Official website, Sportsnet www.sportsnet.ca

Like Sportsnet www.Facebook.com/Sportsnet

Follow Sportsnet on Twitter @Sportsnet

Follow Sportsnet on Instagram @Sportsnet

Follow Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR

Follow John Garrett @SNJohnGarrett

Follow Dan Murphy @sportsnetmurph

Follow Irfaan Gaffar @sportsnetirf

Follow Brendan Batchelor @BatchHockey

Follow Corey Hirsch @CoreyHirsch

Follow Joey Kenward @kenwardskorner

Follow Ann Schmaltz @annschmaltz

Follow Satiar Shah @satiarshah

About Sportsnet
Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 sports media brand, uniting Canadians through sport with the content they love, accessible from anywhere.  Delivering world-class storytelling on a local, regional, national and global level, the multiplatform brand consists of Sportsnet, sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN, Sportsnet 650, Sportsnet NOW, and the Sportsnet app.  Sportsnet consists of four regional channels (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific), and the nationally-distributed Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, and Sportsnet World. Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multimedia rights holder, and is also the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN) and Vancouver Canucks (including radio rights on Sportsnet 650). Sportsnet also has exclusive TV & radio coverage of all 162 Blue Jays games, as well as other MLB games, Toronto Raptors, NBA, Grand Slam of Curling, Rogers Cup, CHL, IndyCar, and extensive soccer programming including Premier League, Bundesliga, FA Cup and 2018 FIFA World Cup European Qualifiers.